Product Law

Contact Person Dr. Astrid Seehafer, M.Sc.

Strategic risk management is becoming increasingly important for companies, especially in regulated industries. In this context, conflict avoidance and conflict resolution regularly go hand in hand. Our Product Law team combines civil and public law expertise, litigation skills and regulatory advice – always treating our clients’ interests as the number one priority.

Our clients include national and international enterprises in the manufacturing, e-commerce, re-commerce and quick commerce sectors as well as stationary retailers and distributors, importers and platform operators. We advise players in the medical devices and pharmaceuticals business, the food, food contact materials and cosmetics industries, the textiles and consumer goods sectors, as well as companies from the digital and tech industry. Many of our clients are active in the field of sustainability, some currently transforming their processes completely to achieve greater sustainability. We serve as their trusted advisors in this process. Our skill in resolving cross-border issues has been built over years of working for major international law firms. Our extensive experience, along with a broad international network of equally skilled and highly specialised local colleagues enables us to resolve cross-border matters quickly and efficiently.

OUR CONSULTANCY SERVICE PORTFOLIO INCLUDES:
  • Product liability and product compliance litigation: Our strategic vision, pragmatism and in-depth industry knowledge enables us to develop defence strategies and represent our clients out of court as well as in disputes before courts and arbitration tribunals. As part of this work. we also involve and coordinate defence teams of lawyers, technical experts and medical experts. Our long years of experience have taught us to anticipate the likely outcome of a case and ingrained in us a reliable instinct on the merits of our clients’ position, which we use to determine whether a case is worth the fight or had best be settled amicably. If a settlement is the best option, we use our expertise to negotiate and draft the agreements to procure the best possible outcome for our clients.
  • Strategic advice on product and regulatory compliance: In the field of preventive risk management we lend our expertise and skill to building a process by providing outstanding advice and crafting smart solutions to the complex and increasingly stringent regulatory requirements that companies from regulated industries are obliged to meet. In case of physical products, we accompany our clients throughout the entire product cycle, from development and design to manufacturing, distribution and disposal of the product. Our advisory services range from detailed issues, such as the design of warnings or specific labelling requirements, to comprehensive legal advice on compliance with market access requirements and the monitoring and assessment of European and national regulatory developments.
  • Strategic advice on product-related sustainability issues, incl. digital ethics: This topic includes eco-design, circular economy, ensuring human rights and protecting the environment along the supply chain as well as green claims. Sustainability is key. We advise our clients on how to make their products and processes green and sustainable, to anticipate legal developments on these issues early on and to implement them both within the company and in all dealings with third parties. In case of digital products and networked systems, we serve our clients in cooperation with our Data.Law team in all regulatory, liability, data protection and digital ethics.
  • Set-up of product compliance, quality and product recall systems: A comprehensive product compliance management concept is designed to ensure that all stakeholders within a company are supplied with all relevant information on product-specific requirements, that only safe products are marketed and that, in the event of a crisis, responsibilities and necessary steps to remedy the situation are clear. In addition to designing general compliance management systems, we therefore also work with our clients to create tailor-made solutions for effective product compliance, quality and recall systems and to implement them internally.
  • Product crisis consulting: In the event of a product crisis, we provide support with RAPEX and RASFF risk assessments. We develop recall concepts for voluntary and mandatory product recalls and provide expert support during the recall process, including the associated crisis communications. We also represent our clients vis-á-vis the competent authorities and insurance companies.

HOW CAN WE HELP YOU?

If you have any questions, please feel free to mail us.

Product.Law

Ansprechpartnerin Dr. Astrid Seehafer, M.Sc.

Strategisches Risikomanagement wird für Unternehmen gerade aus regulierten Industrien immer wichtiger. Dabei gehen Konfliktvermeidung und Konfliktlösung regelmäßig Hand in Hand. Unser Product.Law-Team verbindet zivilrechtliche und öffentlich-rechtliche Expertise, prozessrechtliches Geschick und regulatorische Beratung – die Interessen unserer Mandanten stets im Blick.

Zu unseren Mandanten zählen national und international tätige Unternehmen aus der produzierenden Industrie, dem E-, Re- und Quick-Commerce sowie dem stationären Einzelhandel und Vertrieb, Importeuren und Plattformbetreibern. Wir beraten Akteure aus dem Medizinprodukte- und Arzneimittelbereich, der Lebensmittel-, Bedarfsgegenstände- und Kosmetikbranche, dem Textilien- und Konsumgütersektor, sowie Unternehmen aus der Technologie- und der Digitalbranche. Viele unserer Mandanten sind im Nachhaltigkeitsbereich tätig oder stellen ihre Prozesse derzeit nachhaltigkeitsausgerichtet völlig um. Wir begleiten sie dabei. Grenzüberschreitende Themen kennen wir durch unsere langjährigen Tätigkeiten in internationalen Großkanzleien und können sie schnell und effizient über unser breites internationales Netzwerk mit spezialisierten Kollegen vor Ort aufgreifen.

Unsere Beratung umfasst:
  • Prozessführung im Bereich Produkthaftung und Product Compliance: Mit strategischem Weitblick, Pragmatismus und Branchenwissen entwickelt wir Verteidigungsstrategien und führen gerichtliche und außergerichtliche Prozesse vor staatlichen Gerichten und Schiedsgerichten. Dafür koordinieren wir auch Verteidigungsteams aus Juristen und technischen und medizinischen Experten. Wir behalten den wahrscheinlichen Ausgang eines Verfahrens stets im Auge und wissen instinktiv, wann es sich lohnt, weiterzukämpfen und wann eine einvernehmliche Konfliktlösung sinnvoll ist. In diesem Fall verhandeln und gestalten wir die Vereinbarungen so, dass auch bei einem Vergleich die Interessen unserer Mandanten stets gewahrt bleiben.
  • Strategische Beratung zu Product- und Regulatory-Compliance: Für ein präventives Risikomanagement beraten wir kompetent und umsichtig zu den komplexen und stetig strenger werdenden regulatorischen Anforderungen, die unsere Mandanten aus regulierten Industrien erfüllen müssen. Bei physischen Produkten begleiten wir unsere Mandanten über den gesamten Produktzyklus hinweg, von der Entwicklung und dem Design über die Herstellung und den Vertrieb bis hin zur Entsorgung des Produkts. Unsere Beratungstätigkeit erstreckt sich von Detailfragen wie der Gestaltung von Warnhinweisen oder spezifischen Kennzeichnungsvorgaben über eine umfassende rechtliche Beratung zur Erfüllung von Marktzugangsvoraussetzungen bis hin zur Beobachtung und Bewertung europäischer und nationaler regulatorischer Entwicklungen.
  • Strategische Beratung zu produktbezogenen Nachhaltigkeitsthemen (inkl. digitaler Ethik): Ökodesign, Kreislaufwirtschaft, Sicherung der Menschenrechte und Umwelt entlang der Lieferkette, Green Claims. Sustainability is key. Wir beraten unsere Mandanten dabei, ihre Produkte und Prozesse grün und nachhaltig zu gestalten, diesbezügliche rechtliche Entwicklungen frühzeitig zu antizipieren und unternehmensintern und -extern umzusetzen. Bei digitalen Produkten und vernetzten Systemen unterstützen wir Unternehmen zusammen mit unserem Data.Law-Team bei allen regulatorischen, haftungs- und datenschutzrechtlichen sowie digitalethischen Fragestellungen.
  • Aufbau von Product-Compliance-, Qualitätssicherungs- und Rückrufsystemen: Mit einem umfassenden Product-Compliance-Management soll sichergestellt werden, dass unternehmensintern alle Beteiligten über die produktspezifischen Anforderungen informiert sind, allein sichere Produkte auf den Markt gelangen und im Fall einer Krise die Verantwortlichkeiten und notwendigen Schritte geklärt sind. Neben der Konzipierung von allgemeinen Compliance-Management-Systemen unterstützen wir unsere Mandanten daher auch dabei, maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für effektive Product-Compliance-, Qualitätssicherungs- und Rückrufsysteme zu finden und diese unternehmensintern zu implementieren.
  • Beratung bei Produktkrisen: Im Fall einer Produktkrise unterstützen wir bei der RAPEX- und RASFF-Risikobewertung. Bei freiwilligen oder angeordneten Produktrückrufen entwickeln wir Rückrufkonzepte und begleiten den Rückrufprozess, einschließlich der damit zusammenhängenden Krisenkommunikation, kompetent und erfahren. Dabei übernehmen wir für unsere Mandanten auch die Vertretung gegenüber und Abstimmung mit den zuständigen Behörden und Versicherungen.

Wie können wir Ihnen weiterhelfen?

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, schreiben Sie uns. Wir melden uns umgehend bei Ihnen.