ARQIS advises BME on the acquisition of Detering Group

03. July 2020

ARQIS has advised BME SHK Deutschland Group on the acquisition of all shares in the Lower Saxony based Detering Group. The sale of shares is still subject to approval by the Federal Cartel Office. Detering Group is a specialist wholesaler with a full range in the areas of plumbing, heating and tools. The group employs 395 people and was previously owned by the Dekker and Detering families.

With the merger, the BME Group will complement its SHK business in northern and eastern Germany, which includes the Paulsen Group as well as the Bergmann & Franz Group, with the brands Detering, Tebbenjohanns and Rodenburg belonging to the Detering Group. Following the acquisition of Bergmann & Franz in 2018, BME is thus continuing its growth strategy and expanding its market position.

Building Materials Europe (BME) is the third largest building materials distribution platform in continental Europe in terms of revenues. The BME group employs close to 10,000 FTEs working with sales revenue amounting to 3.7 billion Euros in 2019. The company originated from the divestment of CRH Europe Distribution by CRH plc. which took place in 2019.

The ARQIS team led by Dr. Jörn-Christian Schulze has now worked for the newly formed BME Group for the first time. Previously, the team had accompanied the acquisitions of the Paulsen Group and Bergmann & Franz Group on behalf of CRH.


Advisors to BME

ARQIS Rechtsanwälte (Dusseldorf): Dr. Jörn-Christian Schulze (Leading Partner), Dr. Mirjam Boche (both Corporate/M&A), Dr. Ulrich Lienhard (Real Estate), Johannes Landry (Commercial), Marcus Nothhelfer (IP), Dr. Mauritz von Einem (Tax; both Munich); Counsel: Dr. Stephanie Lenze, Dr. Hendrik von Mellenthin (both Labour Law); Associates: Thomas Chwalek, Dr. Maximilian Backhaus, Kamil Flak (all Corporate/M&A), Nima Hanifi-Atashgah (Finance), Martin Weingärtner (Labour Law), Nora Meyer-Stratmann (IP; Munich), Jennifer Huschauer, Carolin Schlütter-Lückel (both Real Estate); Legal Specialists: Berenike Gottwald, Dr. Liliia Sagun, Gloria Bittner-Schützendorf

RCAA (Frankfurt): Evelyn Niitväli (Antitrust Law)


If you have any questions, please write to us.