Public & Regulatory Law

Contact Person Dr. Friedrich Gebert

We are familiar with the sectors and cases in which regulation is relevant for you. ARQIS supports you with a comprehensive portfolio of public and regulatory legal services.

We keep your approvals situation up to date and ensure that you are ready to comply with new regulatory requirements well in advance. Our team draws on many years of experience, particularly in the highly sensitive areas for the industry. Transactions are part of our DNA. We’re curious – in our strategic client consulting and in our project support activities.

Our consulting includes:
  • Regulatory proceedings: we support you on all material and litigative issues regarding new permits, modifications and around all updates of your approvals
  • Negotiations with third parties and at court: we provide you with corporate minded and legally sound solutions
  • Forward-looking strategic advice on the challenges of new regulatory requirements
  • Crisis management: We help you cope and ensure that regulatory requirements are met
EU GREEN DEAL regulation

The Green Deal and the achievement of its objectives by 2050 will generate more demand for legal adjustments in Europe than any other regulatory project over the years to come. We can provide forward-looking support with our cutting-edge advice. The EU Green Deal has become the European Commission’s core initiative. In fact, the EU has indicated that it will be deploying all of its competition policy instruments – competition law, merger control, state aid law – to achieve the Green Deal ambitions. The EU’s green and digital transformation will affect all sectors of the economy. Sustainability will set the agenda when it comes to circular economy, the regulation of plastic, the transformation of national energy and transport policies, and even in finance industry with the EU Green Bonds. We are already monitoring these impacts and developments for you.

Traditional, national regulatory instruments in the manufacturing industry, such as the FederalEmission Control Act (BlmSchG), the Water Act and mining legislation are also affected. Our consulting activities in this area cover the entire manufacturing supply chain, from raw material extraction (mining) to steel works and paper mills, as well as waste water treatment and recycling.

Up to now very few sustainability objectives have been established in these sectors. The pressure to adapt national laws to EU legislation will now result in an increase in regulatory demands in these focal areas. We have been supporting our clients in the relevant complex approvals procedures for years. When regulatory questions affect your company’s lifeline, you can count on us.

Transaction & Regulatory

Due Diligence is key

 

Transactions are part of our Public & Regulatory team’s DNA. We structure transactions with a focus on regulatory requirements and work together closely in large teams. We sometimes work in project organisations, especially when we are dealing with the impacts of environmental law on deals and companies. It is becoming increasingly evident that regulatory services are a decisive and value-adding factor in M&A transactions. Sustainability is coming to the fore in mergers and acquisitions.

Public Litigation

Reflecting our vast experience, public litigation proceedings are an established aspect of our work and our cases are wide-ranging: from the administrative court to Federal Constitutional Court proceedings, as well as arbitration actions. We particularly focus on climate actions, There are currently over 1400 pending around the world. As a result of the EU’s Green Deal, there will now be an increasing number of climate actions in Europe. Sentences imposing more ambitious climate targets on companies, for example, will be an increasingly significant factor in risk assessments. This is an area in our clients benefit from our professional advice and support.

Sustainability und Climate Change

A new RISK assessment

 

Sustainability has taken the agenda by storm. Ever since the Federal Constitutional Court’s landmark decision on the insufficiency of the country’s climate action in 2021, climate neutrality has taken on constitutional significance in Germany. This will massively impact the decisions of the legislators and government authorities over coming years. Climate change proofing and sustainability criteria will affect future regulatory judgements. We can support our clients in this area of the law. As the global carbon budget becomes increasingly depleted, greater restrictions will be imposed on behaviour that is directly or indirectly associated with carbon emissions. This will result in serious infringements of freedoms in the economic sphere, making a forward-looking assessment essential.

Climate change, as a regulatory mega-trend, will redefine the scope of economically relevant environmental and regulatory law. New reports detailing how climate change and climate risks are changing economies are being published on an almost daily basis. We help our clients to understand and manage the consequences of these regulated sectors. Our multi-disciplinary team assists you to effectively manage risks in order to improve your performance and competitiveness. We support you in the transition to a more sustainable future.

Energy policy revision + transport policy revision = hydrogen

A central challenge associated with regulating climate change is the transformation of the energy and transport sectors. We are working closely with local communities, municipal utilities and companies at the forefront of the energy and transport sectors’ transformation.

The development of renewable energy sources such as wind farms and photovoltaic systems, as well as e-mobility projects, are focal aspects of our work in this area. The challenges are enormous – and regulatory requirements are setting the course. Hydrogen will be critical to the success of the energy and transport sectors’ transformation. Green hydrogen will replace coal, oil and gas as a second industrial energy supply mainstay alongside power from renewable energy sources.

The objective is clear: H2 readiness. To ramp up the hydrogen market – from hydrogen generation to industrial applications and hydrogen mobility – will take massive investments and hands-on business acumen. The substantial subsidies available under the German Hydrogen Strategy will pave the way for the market in the same way that the Renewable Energies Act paved the way for the renewable power roll-out in 2000. We advise our clients in this process.

How can we help you?

If you have any questions about litigation please feel free to mail us.

Public & Regulatory Law

Ansprechpartner Dr. Friedrich Gebert

Wir kennen die Sektoren und Fälle, in denen Regulierung für Sie relevant wird. ARQIS begleitet Sie in der gesamten Bandbreite des Öffentlichen Wirtschaftsrechts.

Wir halten Ihre Genehmigungssituation up-to-date und bereiten Sie frühzeitig auf anstehende regulatorische Herausforderungen vor. Unser Team hat jahrelange Erfahrung, gerade in den industriesensiblen Bereichen. Wir arbeiten für Sie mit Transaktions-DNA. Wir sind neugierig – in der strategischen Beratung unserer Mandanten und in der Projektbegleitung.

Unsere Beratung umfasst:
  • Behördliche Verfahren: Wir begleiten Sie zu allen materiellen und prozessualen Fragen rund um die Neuzulassungen, Änderungen und Anpassungen Ihrer Genehmigungen
  • Verhandlungen mit Dritten und vor Gericht: Wir stehen unternehmerisch denkend und rechtlich sicher an Ihrer Seite
  • Strategische Beratung: Vorausschauend zu den Herausforderungen der neuen Regulierung
  • Bewältigung von Krisensituationen: Wir helfen und sorgen dafür, dass regulatorische Vorgaben erfüllt werden
EU GREEN DEAL Regulierung

Wohl kaum ein Regulierungsvorhaben wird in Europa die rechtliche Beratung der kommenden Jahre so vereinnahmen wie die Realisierung des Green Deals bis 2050. Wir begleiten Sie vorausschauend mit Cutting-Edge-Beratung. Der EU Green Deal ist zum Kernanliegen der EU-Kommission geworden. Sie hat angekündigt, sämtliche Instrumente der EU-Wettbewerbspolitik – Kartellrecht, Fusionskontrolle, Beihilfenrecht – zur Umsetzung des Green Deals zu nutzen. Die Transformation zu einer grünen und digitalen EU wird keinen Sektor des Wirtschaftslebens unverändert lassen. Das Kriterium der Nachhaltigkeit wird den Ton angeben. Von der neuen Circular Economy, der Regulierung von Plastik, über die Energie- und Verkehrswende, bis hin zu einer nachhaltigen Finanzwirtschaft mit EU Green Bonds. Wir haben diese Auswirkungen für Sie frühzeitig im Blick.

Ebenso sind die klassischen, nationalen Regulierungsbereiche der Industrie (BImSchG, Wasserrecht, Bergrecht, usw.) betroffen. Hier liegt ein Schwerpunkt unserer Beratung in der Bergbau-, Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft. Wir beraten die gesamte umweltrechtliche Bandbreite der industriellen Produktion, von der Rohstoffgewinnung über Stahlwerke und Papierfabriken bis hin zu Abwasserbehandlungs- oder Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Nachhaltigkeitsziele waren in diesen Sektoren bisher kaum verankert. Der europarechtliche Anpassungsdruck wird die nationale Regulierung in diesen Schwerpunktbereichen nun nachschärfen. Wir stehen unseren Mandanten seit Jahren in den davon betroffenen und komplexen Genehmigungsverfahren zur Seite. Wenn die Regulierung zur Lifeline Ihres Unternehmens wird, sind wir zur Stelle.

Transaction & Regulatory

Due Diligence is key

 

Unser Public & Regulatory Team arbeitet mit Transaktions-DNA. Wir bilden Transaktionen mit regulatorischem Schwerpunkt ab und arbeiten eng in großen Teams zusammen. Wir können Projektarbeit, gerade wenn es um die Auswirkungen des Umweltrechts auf Deals und Unternehmen geht. In M&A-Transaktionen wird zunehmend erkennbar, dass Regulatory ein entscheidender und wertbildender Faktor wird. Nachhaltigkeit rückt hier immer stärker in den Fokus.

Public Litigation

Auch öffentlich-rechtliche Gerichtsverfahren sind fester Bestandteil unserer Arbeit. Im Rahmen unserer Public Litigation haben wir große Erfahrung, vom Verwaltungsgericht bis zum Bundesverfassungsgericht und Schiedsklagen führen wir diverse Verfahren. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf Klimaklagen, von denen derzeit über 1400 weltweit anhängig sind. Sie werden über den EU Green Deal nun zunehmend nach Europa getragen. Die Verurteilung eines Unternehmens, zum Beispiel zu ehrgeizigeren Klimazielen, wird ein ernstzunehmender Faktor im Risk-Assessment. Hier sind wir zur Stelle und an der Seite unserer Mandanten.

Sustainability und Climate Change

Ein neues RISK Assessment

 

Nachhaltigkeit hat die Agenda im Sturm erobert. Seit dem wegweisenden Klimaschutz-Urteil des Bundesverfassungsgerichts 2021 hat Klimaneutralität in Deutschland verfassungsrang. Das wird in den kommenden Jahren massive Auswirkungen auf die Abwägungsentscheidungen des Gesetzgebers und aller Behörden haben. Klimaverträglichkeitsprüfungen und Nachhaltigkeitskriterien werden in Zukunft die behördlichen Entscheidungen mitprägen. Hier stehen wir unseren Mandanten zur Seite. Je weiter das weltweite CO2-Restbudget aufgebraucht wird, desto stärker dürfen künftig Verhaltensweisen in Deutschland, die direkt oder indirekt mit CO2-Emissionen verbunden sind, beschränkt werden. Das wird gravierende Freiheitseingriffe in das Wirtschaftsleben nach sich ziehen. Ein vorausschauendes Assessment ist hier entscheidend.

Der Klimawandel als regulatorischer Megatrend wird die Bandbreite des wirtschaftsrelevanten Umwelt- und Regulierungsrechts neu aufstellen. Praktisch jeden Tag erscheinen neue Berichte darüber, wie Klimawandel und Klimarisiken das Wirtschaftsleben beeinflussen. Wir helfen unseren Mandanten, die Folgen in diesen regulierten Bereichen zu verstehen und zu managen. Unser multidisziplinäres Team hilft Ihnen, Risiken effektiv zu managen und damit Leistung und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu steigern. Beim Übergang in eine nachhaltige Zukunft stehen wir Ihnen zur Seite.

Energiewende + Verkehrswende = Wasserstoff

Zentrale Herausforderungen im Bereich der Klimaregulierung liegen in der Transformation der wichtigen Sektoren Energie und Verkehr. Gemeinden, kommunale Versorger und Unternehmen, die die Energie- und Verkehrswende an vorderster Front mitgestalten, arbeiten hier eng mit uns zusammen.

Der Aufbau Erneuerbarer Energien aus Wind und Solar sowie die Projekte der E-Mobilität sind uns daher ein besonderes Anliegen. Diese Herausforderungen sind gewaltig – die Regulierung stellt die Weichen. Dabei werden Energiewende und Verkehrswende ohne Wasserstoff nicht gelingen. Grüner Wasserstoff soll Kohle, Öl und Gas ersetzen – also neben dem Strom aus Erneuerbaren Energien zur zweiten Säule der Industrieversorgung werden. Das Ziel ist klar: H2-Readiness.

Von der Wasserstofferzeugung, über die Anwendung der Industrie, bis hin zur Wasserstoff-Mobilität wird der Markthochlauf von Wasserstoff massive Investitionen und ein zupackendes Unternehmertum brauchen. Der ebenso gewichtige Förderrahmen der nationalen Wasserstoffstrategie wird den Weg in den Markt ähnlich ebnen, wie das im Jahr 2000 durch das EEG für Erneuerbaren Strom gelang. Wir beraten unsere Mandanten dabei.

Wie können wir Ihnen weiterhelfen?

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, schreiben Sie uns kurz. Wir melden uns umgehend bei Ihnen.